Videonale.scope #3 (2015)

17.11.-21.11.2015

Found Footage: Retrospectives of Joseph Cornell and Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller

 

Special program:
Joseph Cornell and his contemporaries
How we see. Artistic short films from the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne

 

Presented within the framework of CineCologne (17.-22.11.2015)

Curated by Daniel Kothenschulte

 

Joint opening of the CineCologne Festival:

Tuesday, 17.11.2015, 7:30 pm, Filmhaus Köln, Maybachstr. 111

 

Further information: www.cinecologne.de

 

The third VIDEONALE.scope is dedicated to the genre of “Found Footage” films. The American artist Joseph Cornell (1903-1972) became known for wooden boxes with a glass front, in which he juxtaposed found and made objects in such a way that they merged with one another and seemed to be permanently removed from the outside world. Only later did his film works receive the same attention, even though their concept is founded on a similar constructional method: In the totally subjective montage of film fragments, they generate new relationships of meaning or put their finger on hidden subtexts of the original works. Nowadays found-footage film, which Joseph Cornell made into an art form, is an independent genre of avant-garde film. VIDEONALE.scope presents the first comprehensive retrospective of his films to be shown in Germany, including Cornell’s best known work “Rose Hobart” from 1936. The retrospective will be supplemented by a program of Cornell’s contemporaries and associates. He worked closely with many of them when creating his works, for example, Stan Brakhage, Larry Jordan, Brian Frye and others.

 

In Germany Found Footage is particularly associated with two names: Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller. For 16 years the two film artists have, in their common works, immersed themselves in the history of film and have themselves written film history. In their work they reveal the hidden rituals of classical film narrative and scrutinise the glamorous surface, at the same time celebrating it. Besides this, in their respective solo works they have significantly contributed to the establishing of found footage films as one of the most important dialects in contemporary film and video art, and elevated it artistically to a great height.

 

In four comprehensive programmes we offer a look both at the solo works of both artists and at the numerous common productions which they have created since the end of the 90s. We also show their award-winning work “Contre-jour” (2009) and their emblematic works “Locomotive” (2008) and “Cut” (2013). The film makers will be present and will provide an introduction to the programmes.

 

To celebrate the 25th jubilee of the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne, under the title “How we see”, we also present two programmes of short films made by students from recent years.

 

In the framework of VIDEONALE.scope Videonale, together with StrzeleckiBooks and Daniel Kothenschulte, publishes two publications on Joseph Cornell and Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller in the series „Avantgarde, Experiment & Underground“.  

 

Programme VIDEONALE.scope:

 

Tue 17.11.2015

7.30 pm Opening CineCologne
Filmhaus Cologne, Maybachstr. 111

 

Wed 18.11.2015

7-9 pm Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller I

Filmclub 813

 

Videostill: Matthias Müller, Vacancy, 1998

 

Vacancy, Matthias Müller, 16mm, 1998, 14'
Enlighten, Christoph Girardet, 2000, 5'
Beacon, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2002, 15'
Phoenix Tapes, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 1999, 47’

 

Four modern classics of the art film: In the multiple award-winning Vacancy, old amateur films from modernist city Brasilia are the ticket to a melancholy journey.  Enlighten is searching for the sublime in artificial thunderstorms from old Hollywood classics. Beacon, on the other hand, leads us to another of the cinema’s best loved places when it merges shots of coasts and beaches from ten venues with one another. And the evening filler Phoenix Tapes tells us, without comment, everything about Hitchcock – a montage of his obsessions, a stroll through his whole Oeuvre and without question one of the most intelligent films on cinema.

The film makers will be present.

 

9:30-11 pm How we see. Artistic short films of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne I

Filmpalette Köln

 

Videostill : Sonja Engelhardt, Crying about the Passing of Time, 2005

 

Katharina Pethke, Anophtalmus, 2005, 7'

Henning Frederik Malz, Rest In Me, 2014, 6'

Sonja Engelhardt, Crying about the Passing of Time, 2005, 1'
Julia Weissenberg, Schneesturm, 2012, 12'
Lukas Marxt, Reign of Silence, 2013, 7'
Johanna Reich, Black Hole, 2009, 6'
Daniel Burkhardt, grundlos, 2005, 3'
Benjamin Ramírez Pérez, During The Day My Vision Is Perfect, 2013, 10'
Stefan Ramírez Pérez, Stick It, 2014, 5'
Eli Cortiñas, Dial M for Mother, 2008, 11'
Miriam Gossing & Lina Sieckmann, Desert Miracles, 2015, 10'

 

In addition to the retrospectives of Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, VIDEONALE.scope is also celebrating the 25th jubilee of the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne (KHM Köln) with two programmes of short films by students of the academy.

Highlights of the programme: In Dial M for Mother Eli Cortinãs presents a mother-daughter conflict, a stormy battle about identity and autonomy. The roles are taken by her own mother and Hollywood actress Gena Rowlands. Stefan Ramirez Pérez imitates the movement patterns of female gymnasts at the 1996 Olympics and, in Stick it, expands the moments of total concentration immediately before the competition – in the face of potential failure. In Julia Weissenberg’s Schneesturm we observe a memory artist who, with the help of a complex binary code, causes a work of art to appear, while in Black Hole, Johanna Reich apparently disappears into a black hole in the white of a snow covered area. With processed fragments from Michelangelo Antonioni’s L’avventura, Benjamin Ramírez Pérez composes a dreamlike reference to the original, and in Reign of Silence Lukas Marxt finds the evanescent answer to Robert Smithson’s Spiral Jetty in Utah’s Great Salt Lake.

 

Thur 19.11.2015

7-8.45 pm Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller II

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Videostill: Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, Cut, 2013

 

Play, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2003, 7'20''

Mirror, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2003, 8'
Maybe Siam, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2009, 12'20
Locomotive, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2008, 21'
Meteor, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2011, 15'
Cut, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2013, 13'

 

For Hollywood only the audience counts, and in Play that’s all you see. You read the film from the faces. Mirror, in contrast, stages deserted settings and glances without an object – a reverence to Antonioni. The cinema celebrates vision, so it frequently tells us about the blind: With its cuts from film scenes, Maybe Siam touches the borders of a cinema which otherwise uses glances to tell the story. The subject of Locomotive is a motif from the early history of the cinema, one which deserves its own film history, the railway. Meteor, on the other hand, describes the road from the nursery to the cosmos, a hypnotic masterpiece and a reverence to the transcendental in science fiction. Cut is also a celebration of film editing, but the cuts the knife makes are visible on the screen: a road cutting between Buñuel and Cronenberg.

 

The film makers will be present.

 

9-10.30 pm Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller III

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Videostill: Christoph Girardet, Pianoforte, 2007

 

Release, Christoph Girardet, 1996, 9'30

Scratch, Christoph Girardet, 2001, 4'50
Manual, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2002, 9'30''
Absence, Christoph Girardet, 2002, 8'20"
Storyboard, Christoph Girardet, 2007, 5'30
Fabric, Christoph Girardet, 2014, 9'30"
Kristall, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2006, 14'30''
Pianoforte, Christoph Girardet, 2007, 6’
Silberwald, Christoph Girardet, 2010, 12'

 

When will King Kong release the white woman from his grasp? The organisation of time is everything in the cinema, it is the screw that can be used to make large adjustments to the material, as in Release: and suspense are allegedly one and the same in cinema. Sound has the leading role in Scratch and Pianoforte, the first is a festival for turntable fetishists, the latter a furious montage of 88 scenes in which the piano is played. In addition: Silberwald, Girardets poaching trip through the perpetual rustling winds of old ‘heimat’ films. A highlight of the program is Kristall, a modern classic in which mirror scenes are reflected.

 

The film makers will be present.

 

Fri 20.11.2015
7-8.45 pm Joseph Cornell I

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Videostill: Joseph Cornell, Rose Hobart, 1936

 

Rose Hobart, 1936, 19’
Carrousell (1940er) 6’
Thimble Theatre (1940er), 6’
The Children’s Trilogy:
Cotillion, 1940, 8’
The Midnight Party, 1940, 3’
The Children's Party, 1940, 8’
Jack’s Dream (1940er) 4’
Untitled (Bookstalls), ca. 1930er, 11’

 

Joseph Cornell collected copies of old films in order to entertain his handicapped brother. But the films soon became boring and so he started cutting them together into new films. In many of the films in this programme one sees that their Dadaistic montage was intended to be great fun. But is the fun a game with one’s own dreams. In his masterpiece Rose Hobart, Cornell was certainly dealing with his own longings. He cut all the action scenes out of the B movie East of Borneo in order to highlight his favourite star, Rose Hobart, as effectively as possible. And in the game of glances he discovered a mysterious eroticism. The premier in a New York gallery resulted in a scandal: A member of the audience created a ruckus because Cornell had stolen his dreams. It was Salvador Dalí.
 

9.30-10.45 pm Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller IV

Filmpalette Köln

 

Videostill: Matthias Müller, Home Stories, 1990

 

Home Stories, Matthias Müller, 1990, 6'

Alpsee, Matthias Müller,1994, 15'
Pensão Globo, Matthias Müller,1997, 15'
Album, Matthias Müller, 2004, 24'
Phantom, Matthias Müller, 2001, 5’
Hide, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2006, 7'40
Contre-jour, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2009, 10'40'' 

 

Matthias Müller’s films always handle the permanence and at the same time, the transience of the cinema. They exaggerate the unreality and clinical perfection of the films from the Hollywood studios of the 1950s, whose decors and colours they quote (Home Stories, 1990; Pensão Globo, 1997) or even reproduce in detail (Alpsee, 1994). But at the same time they reveal the decay of these attributes, the “production values”, in the jargon of the studios – a decay which, on closer inspection, reveals itself as a creative act: For Müller, as his own lab technician, is responsible not only for the degradation but also initially the one who develops the material. In this way Müller, in all his works on film, uses the mortality of the film image to make us aware of its living quality. In his wonderful Contre-jour, the eye’s retina is itself this vulnerable (film)material.

 

The film maker will be present.

 

11 pm-0.15am How we see. Artistic short films of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne II

Filmpalette Köln

 

Videostill: Mischa Leinkauf & Matthias Wermke, Zwischenzeit, 2008

 

Tama Tobias Macht, Haltestelle Hansaring, 2008, 6'

Kate Dervishi, Labor Day in Metropolitan Detroit, 2014, 17‘
Jana Debus, Gregor Alexis, 2009, 21'
Maribel Chavez, Preparación, 2011, 2’
Sonja Engelhardt, 2004, 2004, 2'
Lena Ditte Nissen, Korona, 2013, 10'
Mischa Leinkauf & Matthias Wermke, Zwischenzeit, 2008,9‘

 

Highlights of the programme: With Gregor Alexis, Jana Debus creates a subtle portrait of her schizophrenic brother, while Lena Ditte Nissen, in Korona, relates a young woman’s journey into her innermost self with mystical, minimalist black and white images, The focus changes from individual persons to urban life: In Labor Day in Metropolitan Detroit, Kate Dervishi throws a melancholy-ironic glance at her deserted home city. In an urban intervention as simple as it is audacious, Mischa Leinkauf and Matthias Wermke, who hit the headlines last year when they swapped the flags on the Brooklyn Bridge, transform public transport into personal transport in Zwischenzeit.

 

Sat 21.11.2015
7 -8.45 pm Joseph Cornell II

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Guest: Jonas Mekas

 

Videostill: Joseph Cornell, Nymphlight, 1957

 

By Night with Torch and Spear, ca. 1940er, 8’
New York-Rome-Barcelona-Brussels, ca. 1940er, 10’
The Aviary, 1954, 11’
Nymphlight, 1957, 7’
A Legend for Fountains, 1957/1965, 17’
Angel, 1957, 3‘
Gnir Rednow, Stan Brakhage and Joseph Cornell, 1955 ‒ 1960er, 6‘
Mulberry Street, 1957/1965, 9’
Flushing Meadows, 1965/1978, 8’

 

As a collector of films, Joseph Cornell discovered that which he also assembled in his collages and boxes: A secret, mysterious beauty. By Night with Torch and Spear discovers majestic beauty in the pictures of a steel works, overturned so that they are standing on their head. Tinted and played back at slightly reduced speed, the images awaken a silent pathos. One feels oneself shifted into a heavenly inferno. In later years Cornell himself took the camera onto the streets. Now the passers by of New York were his found objects whom he followed, just as Alice followed her rabbit into Wonderland.

 

9-11.30 pm Joseph Cornell and his contemporaries

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Videostill: The Secret Story, Janie Geiser, 1996

 

Cornell, 1965, Larry Jordan, 1978, 9’

Centuries of June, Stan Brakhage and Joseph Cornell, 1955, 11’
The Wonder Ring, Stan Brakhage, 1955, 4’
The Secret Story, Janie Geiser, 1996, 9’
What Mozart Saw on Mulberry Street, Rudy Burckhardt, 1956, 6’
Flower, the Boy, the Librarian, Stephanie Barber, 1996, 5’
Our Lady of the Sphere, Larry Jordan, 1972, 10’
What Makes Day and Night, Jeanne Liotta, 1998, 9’
Her Fragrant Emulsion, Lewis Klahr, 1987, 11‘
Oona's Veil, Brian Frye, 2000, 8’
Fresh Cornell, Daniel Kothenschulte, 2015, 14‘

 

Cornell and his contemporaries: Joseph Cornell’s art stems itself against forgetting. Just as he conserved in his objects scenes which appealed to the subconscious, with his films he scratched at the surface of an iceberg hiding a treasure-trove of images. When he sauntered through New York, he wondered at the surreal arrangements in the shop windows. In What Mozart Saw on Mulberry Street he portrays the street through the eyes of a Mozart bust standing in a shop window. When New York’s administration decided to pull down Third Avenue’s overhead railway, he gave Stan Brakhage the commission for a filmic document. This resulted in The Wonder Ring, a key work of the avant-garde. With the camera, Brakhage discovered a new, unformed way of looking. Among the younger artists influenced in equal parts by Cornell and Brakhage is Brian Frye, who, in Oona’s Veil, uses disintegrating film material in beguiling fashion. Fresh Cornell is an experiment: Can the montage concept of Rose Hobart be applied to a jungle film starring Angelina Jolie by excising all the action? 

 

Special programme in the context of the CineCologne focus „Aufbruch (Departure)“:

 

Thur 19.11.2015
7.30pm Aufbruch (Departure) @ VIDEONALE.scope: Video programme
Cinema at Alte Feuerwache, Melchiorstr. 3, Cologne

 

Antti Tanttu, Solitude, 2004, 4:00 Min

Mahdi Fleifel, Xenos, 2013, 12:00 Min
Ulu Braun, Die Flutung von Viktoria, 2004, 25:00 Min
Henrik Lund Jorgensen, Friends He Lost at Sea, 2009, 5:36 Min
Judith Raum, Unlike the Worm in the Apple (Stan Brackhage revisited), 2005, 10:40 Min
Gonzalo Rodriguez, Rebeca, 2009, 24:00 Min
Kai Zimmer, 3 Minutes in America, 1996, 3:00 Min
Zhenchen Liu, Under Construction, 2007, 09:55 Min

 

In Solitude, a person is standing on a cliff, facing into the wind, and using signal flags to spell out the message “Solitude is luxury when it is voluntary”. This describes the state somewhere between heteronomy and autonomy which is determining for all the works in this programme.

 

Without mincing words, Xenos depicts the hopeless tale of Palestinian refugees in Athens, while the cartoon Die Flutung von Viktoria (The Flooding of Viktoria) follows a group of travellers laconically through the decline of the old world and the rise of a new, different one. In Friends He Lost at Sea, the viewer follows the thoughts of the protagonist, who conjures up scenes from historical paintings and comes alarmingly close to current reality. Following Stan Brakhage, Unlike the Worm in the Apple reinterprets being imprisoned in the bosom of mother nature while in Rebeca, the film maker seeks filmic ways and means of understanding his grandmother, who saw suicide as the only way out. At the end of the programme, 3 Minutes in America carries along the viewer in the wake of fateful car rides in Hollywood classics, while Under Construction impressively captures on the screen the conflict over the displacement of Chinese citizens from their hereditary homes.

 

More information: www.cinecologne.de

 

 

Venues

Filmclub 813 e.V.
Kino 813 in der BRÜCKE
Hahnenstraße 6
50667 Cologne
Subway 1/3/4/7/9/16/18: Neumarkt

 

Filmpalette Köln
Lübecker Str. 15

50668 Cologne
Subway 12/15/16/18: Ebertplatz or
Subway 12/15: Hansaring

 

Entrance fees

7 Euro / 5 Euro (reduced)

 

Combined ticket (2 Scope-programmes) = 12 Euro
Combined ticket (2 Scope-programmes) reduced = 10 Euro

 

CineCologne-festival pass (valid for all CineCologne-festivals) = 30 Euro / 25 Euro (reduced)
Accreditation for press and professionals: 15 Euro (please accredit yourself at www.cinecologne.de)

 

----

------

 

 

VIDEONALE.scope is funded by:

 

     

 

CineCologne is funded by:

 

     

 

In cooperation with: 

 

    

 

 

Videonale e.V. is funded by:

VIDEONALE.scope 2015

17.11.-21.11.2015

Found Footage: Werkschau Joseph Cornell / Werkschauen Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller

 

Sonderprogramme:

Joseph Cornell und seine Zeitgenossen
Wie wir sehen. Künstlerische Kurzfilme aus der Kunsthochschule für Medien, Köln

 

Kuratiert von Daniel Kothenschulte

Präsentiert im Rahmen von CineCologne

 

Gemeinsame Eröffnung der CineCologne Festivals:

Dienstag, 17.11.2015, 19.30 Uhr, Filmhaus Köln

 

Weitere Informationen: www.cinecologne.de

Zum CineCologne Programm

 

Die dritte Ausgabe von VIDEONALE.scope steht ganz im Zeichen des „Found Footage“-Films. Der amerikanische Künstler und Filmemacher Joseph Cornell (1903-1972) wurde berühmt mit verglasten Holzkäsen, in deren Innenräumen vorgefundene und angefertigte Gegenstände Beziehungen eingehen, ja so sehr miteinander verschmelzen, dass sie der Außenwelt für immer entrückt erscheinen. Seinem filmischen Werk wurde erst spät die gleiche Aufmerksamkeit zuteil,  obwohl ihm eine ähnliche Gestaltungsmethode zu Grunde liegt: In der gänzlich subjektiven Montage filmischer Fundstücke schaffen sie neue Bedeutungszusammenhänge oder legen den Finger auf verborgene Subtexte der Originale. Heute ist der Found-Footage-Film, wie ihn Joseph Cornell zur Kunstform machte, ein eigenes Genre im Avantgardefilm. Erstmals zeigt VIDEONALE.scope eine umfassende Retrospektive seiner Filme in Deutschland, darunter auch Cornells berühmtestes Werk „Rose Hobart“ aus dem Jahr 1936. Ergänzt wird die Werkschau durch ein Programm von Zeitgenossen und Wegbegleitern Cornells, mit denen er für viele seiner Werke eng zusammen arbeitete, wie u.a. Stan Brakhage, Larry Jordan und Brian Frye. 

 

In Deutschland wird Found Footage besonders mit zwei Namen in Verbindung gebracht: Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller. Seit 16 Jahren tauchen die beiden Filmkünstler in ihrem gemeinsamen Schaffen in die Filmgeschichte ein und schreiben dabei selbst Filmgeschichte. Dabei decken sie die verborgenen Rituale des klassischen Filmerzählens auf und hinterfragen die schillernden Oberflächen, in dem sie diese zugleich zelebrieren. Unabhängig davon trugen sie in ihren jeweiligen Solo-Werken maßgeblich dazu bei, den Found-Footage-Film als eine der wichtigsten Sprachen in der zeitgenössischen Film- und Videokunst zu etablieren und führten ihn künstlerisch zu besonderen Höhen.

In vier umfassenden Programmen geben wir sowohl Einblick in das Einzelwerk beider Künstler als auch in die zahlreichen Gemeinschaftsproduktionen, die seit Ende der 1990er Jahre entstanden sind. Gezeigt werden u.a. die preisgekrönte Arbeit „Contre-jour“ (2009) und die emblematischen Werke „Locomotive“ (2008) und „Cut“ (2013). Die Filmemacher sind anwesend und führen in die Programme ein.   

  

Aus Anlass des 25-jährigen Jubiläums der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln zeigen wir außerdem zwei Kurzfilmprogramme unter dem Titel „Wie wir sehen“ mit Werken von Studierenden aus den letzten Jahren. 

 

Programm VIDEONALE.scope:

 

Di 17.11.2015
19.30 Uhr Eröffnung CineCologne, Filmhaus Köln

Filmhaus Köln, Maybachstr. 111

 

Mi 18.11.2015

19.00-21.00h Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller I

Filmclub 813

 

Videostill: Matthias Müller, Vacancy, 1998

 

Vacancy, Matthias Müller, 16mm, 1998, 14'
Enlighten, Christoph Girardet, 2000, 5'
Beacon, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2002, 15'
Phoenix Tapes, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 1999, 47’

 

Vier moderne Kunstfilmklassiker: In vielfach prämierten Vacancy dienen alte Amateurfilme aus der modernistischen Kunststadt Brasilia als Ticket zu einer melancholischen Reise. Enlighten sucht das Erhabene in künstlichen Gewitterszenen aus Hollywoodklassikern. Beacon führt dagegen an einen anderen Sehnsuchtsort des Kinos, wenn Küsten- und Strandszenen aus zehn Spielorten miteinander verschmelzen. Und der fast abendfüllende Phoenix Tapes verrät kommentarlos alles über Hitchcock – eine Montage seiner Obsessionen, ein Streifzug durchs Gesamtwerk und einer der klügsten Filme über das Kino überhaupt.

 

Die Filmemacher sind anwesend.

 

21:30-22.45h Wie wir sehen, Künstlerische Kurzfilme der KHM Köln I

Filmpalette Köln

 

Videostill : Sonja Engelhardt, Crying about the Passing of Time, 2005

 

Katharina Pethke, Anophtalmus, 2005, 7'

Henning Frederik Malz, Rest In Me, 2014, 6'

Sonja Engelhardt, Crying about the Passing of Time, 2005, 1'
Julia Weissenberg, Schneesturm, 2012, 12'
Lukas Marxt, Reign of Silence, 2013, 7'
Johanna Reich, Black Hole, 2009, 6'
Daniel Burkhardt, grundlos, 2005, 3'
Benjamin Ramírez Pérez, During The Day My Vision Is Perfect, 2013, 10'
Stefan Ramírez Pérez, Stick It, 2014, 5'
Eli Cortiñas, Dial M for Mother, 2008, 11'
Miriam Gossing & Lina Sieckmann, Desert Miracles, 2015, 10'

 

Ergänzend zur Werkschau von Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller zeigt VIDEONALE.scope aus Anlass des 25-jährigen Bestehens der KHM Köln zwei Programme mit künstlerischen Kurzfilmen von Studierenden der Hochschule, an der Matthias Müller als Professor unterrichtet.

Schlaglichter auf das Programm: In „Dial M for Mother“ lässt Eli Cortinãs einen Mutter-Tochter-Konflikt, einen hitzigen Kampf um Identität und Autonomie, von ihrer eigenen Mutter – und der Hollywood-Schauspielerin Gena Rowlands ausagieren. Stefan Ramírez Pérez imitiert Bewegungsabläufe der Turnerinnen der Olympiade von 1996 und dehnt dabei in „Stick It“ den Augenblick äußerster Konzentration unmittelbar vor dem Wettkampf – im Angesicht dräuenden Scheiterns. In Julia Weissenbergs „Schneesturm“ beobachten wir eine Gedächtniskünstlerin, die mithilfe eines komplexen binären Codes ein Kunstwerk zum Erscheinen bringt,  während Johanna Reich in „Black Hole“ scheinbar durch ein schwarzes Loch im Weiß einer Schneefläche entschwindet. Benjamin Ramírez Pérez komponiert mit bearbeiteten Fragmenten von Michelangelo Antonionis „L'avventura“ eine traumähnliche Referenz auf das Original und Lukas Marxt findet in „Reign of Silence“ die vergängliche Antwort auf Robert Smithsons „Spiral Jetty“ im Großen Salzsee in Utah.

 

Die Programme werden vorgestellt von Prof. Daniela Kinateder (Künstlerische Montage) und Prof. Matthias Müller (Experimenteller Film).

 

Do 19.11.2015
19.00-20.45h Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller II

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Videostill: Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, Cut, 2013

 

Play, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2003, 7'20''

Mirror, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2003, 8'
Maybe Siam, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2009, 12'20
Locomotive, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2008, 21'
Meteor, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2011, 15'
Cut, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2013, 13'

 

Für Hollywood zählt nur das Publikum, und in Play sieht man auch gar nichts anderes. Die Filme liest man ab auf den Gesichtern. Mirror ist dagegen eine Inszenierung verlassener Spielräume und Blicke ohne Objekt – und eine Huldigung an Antonioni. Das Kino feiert das Sehen und erzählt deshalb oft von Blinden: Montiert aus Kinoszenen rührt Maybe Siam an die Grenzen eines Kinos, das sonst so gerne in Blicken erzählt. Locomotive widmet sich einem Motiv, das ganz am Anfang der Kinogeschichte steht und eine eigene Filmgeschichte verdient, der Eisenbahn. Meteor beschreibt dagegen den Weg vom Kinderzimmer in den Kosmos, ein hypnotisches Meisterwerk und eine Huldigung an die Transzendenz im Science Fiction. Auch Cut ist eine Feier des Filmschnitts, doch die Messer schneiden sichtbar auf der Leinwand: Einschneidendes zwischen Buñuel und Cronenberg.

 

Die Filmemacher sind anwesend.

 

21.00-22.30h Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller III

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Videostill: Christoph Girardet, Pianoforte, 2007

 

Release, Christoph Girardet, 1996, 9'30

Scratch, Christoph Girardet, 2001, 4'50
Manual, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2002, 9'30''
Absence, Christoph Girardet, 2002, 8'20"
Storyboard, Christoph Girardet, 2007, 5'30
Fabric, Christoph Girardet, 2014, 9'30"
Kristall, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2006, 14'30''
Pianoforte, Christoph Girardet, 2007, 6’
Silberwald, Christoph Girardet, 2010, 12'

 

Wann lässt King Kong die weiße Frau wieder aus der Faust? Die Organisation von Zeit ist alles im Kino und genau an dieser Schraube lässt sich in der Bearbeitung des Materials noch kräftig drehen, wie in Release: und Spannung sind im Kino angeblich ein und dasselbe. Der Ton spielt Hauptrollen in Scratch und Pianoforte, ersterer ein Fest für Turntable-Fetischisten, letzterer eine furiose Montage aus 88 Klavierspielszenen. Dazu: Silberwald, Girardets Wilderei durch die ewig rauschende Naturkulisse alter Heimatfilme. Ein Höhepunkt des Programms ist Kristall, ein moderner Klassiker, der Spiegelszenen widerspiegelt.

 

Die Filmemacher sind anwesend.

 

Fr 20.11.2015
19.00-20.45h Joseph Cornell I

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Videostill: Joseph Cornell, Rose Hobart, 1936

 

Rose Hobart, 1936, 19’
Carrousell (1940er) 6’
Thimble Theatre (1940er), 6’
The Children’s Trilogy:
Cotillion, 1940, 8’
The Midnight Party, 1940, 3’
The Children's Party, 1940, 8’
Jack’s Dream (1940er) 4’
Untitled (Bookstalls), ca. 1930er, 11’

 

Joseph Cornell sammelte alte Filmkopien, um seinen behinderten Bruder damit zu unterhalten. Doch die Filme wurden bald langweilig, und so begann der Künstler, sie zu neuen Filmen zusammen zu schneiden. Vielen der Filme in diesem Programm merkt man an, dass ihre dadaistisch wirkende Montage erst einmal Spaß machen sollte. Aber ist der Spaß eines Spiels mit selbstgemachten Träumen. Rose Hobart, sein Meisterwerk, drehte Cornell freilich über die eigenen Sehnsüchte. Aus dem B-Picture East of Borneo schnitt er alle Actionszenen heraus, um ganz seinen Lieblingsstar Rose Hobart wirken zu lassen. Und entdeckte im Spiel der Blicke eine rätselhafte Erotik. Bei der Uraufführung in einer New Yorker Galerie kam es zu einem Skandal: Ein Besucher randalierte, weil ihm Cornell seine Träume gestohlen habe. Es war Salvador Dalí.   
 

21.30-22.45h Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller IV

Filmpalette Köln

 

Videostill: Matthias Müller, Home Stories, 1990

 

Home Stories, Matthias Müller, 1990, 6'

Alpsee, Matthias Müller,1994, 15'
Pensão Globo, Matthias Müller,1997, 15'
Album, Matthias Müller, 2004, 24'
Phantom, Matthias Müller, 2001, 5’
Hide, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2006, 7'40
Contre-jour, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, 2009, 10'40'' 

 

Matthias Müllers Filme handeln stets von der Ewigkeit und gleichzeitigen Flüchtigkeit des Kinos. Sie überhöhen die Irrealitiät und klinische Perfektion des Hollywood-Studiokinos der 1950er Jahre, das in seinen Dekors und Farben zitiert (Home Stories, 1990; Pensão Globo, 1997) oder sogar minutiös nachgebaut wird (Alpsee, 1994) wird. Zugleich aber geben sie diese Attribute, die „production values“, wie man in der Filmsprache sagen würde, dem Verfall Preis – einem Verfall, der sich bei näherem Hinsehen aber zugleich auch als Schöpfungsakt erweist: Ist doch Müller als sein eigener Laborant nicht nur für die Zersetzung, sondern zunächst einmal überhaupt für die Entwicklung des Materials verantwortlich. So machen alle auf Film hergestellten Arbeiten Müllers die Lebendigkeit des Filmbilds an seiner Sterblichkeit erfahrbar. Im grandiosen Contre-jour ist die Netzhaut des Auges selbst dieses verletzliche (Film)material.

 

Der Filmemacher ist anwesend.

 

23.00-0.15h Wie wir sehen, Künstlerische Kurzfilme der KHM Köln II

Filmpalette Köln

 

Videostill: Mischa Leinkauf & Matthias Wermke, Zwischenzeit, 2008

 

Tama Tobias Macht, Haltestelle Hansaring, 2008, 6'

Kate Dervishi, Labor Day in Metropolitan Detroit, 2014, 17‘
Jana Debus, Gregor Alexis, 2009, 21'
Maribel Chavez, Preparación, 2011, 2’
Sonja Engelhardt, 2004, 2004, 2'
Lena Ditte Nissen, Korona, 2013, 10'
Mischa Leinkauf & Matthias Wermke, Zwischenzeit, 2008,9‘

 

Mit „Gregor Alexis" schafft Jana Debus ein subtiles Porträt ihres schizophrenen Bruders, während Lena Ditte Nissen in „Korona“ die Reise einer jungen Frau in ihr innerstes Erleben mit mystisch minimalistischen Schwarz-Weiß-Aufnahmen erzählt. Vom Individuellen wendet sich der Blick ins urbane Leben: In „Labor Day in Metropolitan Detroit“ wirft Kate Dervishi einen melancholisch-ironischen Blick auf ihre verlassene Heimatstadt. In einer ebenso einfachen wie kühnen urbanen Intervention transformieren Mischa Leinkauf und Matthias Wermke, die im letzten Jahr mit dem Flaggentausch auf der Brooklyn-Bridge weltweit für Schlagzeilen sorgten, in „Zwischenzeit“ den öffentlichen Personennahverkehr in Individualverkehr.

 

Das Programm wird vorgestellt von Prof. Daniela Kinateder (Künstlerische Montage) und Prof. Matthias Müller (Experimenteller Film).

 

Sa 21.11.2015
19.00-20.45h Joseph Cornell II

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Zu Gast: Jonas Mekas

 

Videostill: Joseph Cornell, Nymphlight, 1957

 

By Night with Torch and Spear, ca. 1940er, 8’
New York-Rome-Barcelona-Brussels, ca. 1940er, 10’
The Aviary, 1954, 11’
Nymphlight, 1957, 7’
A Legend for Fountains, 1957/1965, 17’
Angel, 1957, 3‘
Gnir Rednow, Stan Brakhage and Joseph Cornell, 1955 ‒ 1960er, 6‘
Mulberry Street, 1957/1965, 9’
Flushing Meadows, 1965/1978, 8’

 

Als Filmsammler entdeckte Joseph Cornell was er auch in seinen Collagen und Boxen zusammen trug: Eine geheimnisvolle, rätselhafte Schönheit. By Night with Torch and Spear entdeckt in auf dem Kopf stehenden Aufnahmen eines Stahlwerks eine majestätische Schönheit. Eingefärbt und leicht verlangsamt erwecken die Bilder ein stummes Pathos. Man fühlt sich in ein himmlisches Höllenfeuer versetzt. In späteren Jahren ging Cornell selbst mit der Kamera auf die Straße. Nun waren die New Yorker Passanten seine Fundobjekte, denen er folgte wie Alice seinem Kaninchen ins Wunderland.

 

21.00-22.30h Joseph Cornell und seine Wegbegleiter

Filmclub 813 Köln

 

Videostill: The Secret Story, Janie Geiser, 1996

 

Cornell, 1965, Larry Jordan, 1978, 9’

Centuries of June, Stan Brakhage and Joseph Cornell, 1955, 11’
The Wonder Ring, Stan Brakhage, 1955, 4’
The Secret Story, Janie Geiser, 1996, 9’
What Mozart Saw on Mulberry Street, Rudy Burckhardt, 1956, 6’
Flower, the Boy, the Librarian, Stephanie Barber, 1996, 5’
Our Lady of the Sphere, Larry Jordan, 1972, 10’
What Makes Day and Night, Jeanne Liotta, 1998, 9’
Her Fragrant Emulsion, Lewis Klahr, 1987, 11‘
Oona's Veil, Brian Frye, 2000, 8’
Fresh Cornell, Daniel Kothenschulte, 2015, 14‘

 

Cornell und seine Wegbegleiter: Joseph Cornells Kunst stellt sich gegen das Vergessen. So wie er in seinen Objekten Szenen konservierte, die ans Unbewusste appellieren, kratzte er mit seinen Filmen an der Oberfläche eines Eisbergs ungehobener Bilderschätze. Wenn er durch New York flanierte, bestaunte er die surrealen Ordnungen in den Schaufenstern. In What Mozart Saw on Mulberry Street zeigt er die Straße mit den Augen einer Mozart-Büste im Schaufenster. Als man in New York beschloss, die Bahnlinie der Third Avenue abzureißen, bestellte er beim jungen Stan Brakhage ein filmisches Dokument. So entstand The Wonder Ring, ein Schlüsselwerk der Avantgarde. Brakhage entdeckte mit der Kamera ein neues, ungeformtes Sehen. Zu den jüngeren Künstlern, die gleichermaßen von Cornell und Brakhage beeinflusst wurden, zählt Brian Frye, der in Oona’s Veil auf betörende Weise mit sich zersetzendem Filmmaterial arbeitet. Fresh Cornell ist ein Experiment: Lässt sich das Montageprinzip von Rose Hobart auf einen Dschungelfilm mit Angelina Jolie übertragen, in dem man alle Action herausschneidet?

 

Die Werkschau zu Joseph Cornell findet statt in Kooperation mit Anthology Film Archives, Canyon Cinema Foundation, The Film-Makers’ Cooperative und The Museum of Modern Art, New York.

 

Sonderprogramm zum CineCologne-Fokus "Aufbruch":

 

Do 19.11.2015

19.30h Aufbruch @ VIDEONALE.scope: Videoprogramm
Kinosaal in der Alten Feuerwache, Melchiorstr. 3

 

Antti Tanttu, Solitude, 2004, 4:00 Min

Mahdi Fleifel, Xenos, 2013, 12:00 Min
Ulu Braun, Die Flutung von Viktoria, 2004, 25:00 Min
Henrik Lund Jorgensen, Friends He Lost at Sea, 2009, 5:36 Min
Judith Raum, Unlike the Worm in the Apple (Stan Brackhage revisited), 2005, 10:40 Min
Gonzalo Rodriguez, Rebeca, 2009, 24:00 Min
Kai Zimmer, 3 Minutes in America, 1996, 3:00 Min
Zhenchen Liu, Under Construction, 2007, 09:55 Min

 

Einsam auf einer Felsgruppe stehend, schreibt in Solitude eine Person mit Hilfe des Flaggenalphabets die Erkenntnis in den Wind „Solitude is luxury when it is voluntary“ und umschreibt damit genau den Zustand zwischen Selbst-und Fremdbestimmung, der für die Arbeiten dieses Programmes bestimmend ist.

Xenos erzählt ohne beschönigende Umschweife die hoffnungslose Geschichte palästinensischer Flüchtlinge in Athen während die Trickfilmanimation
Die Flutung von Viktoria eine Reisegruppe lakonisch in den Untergang der alten und die Auferstehung einer neuen, anderen Welt begleitet. In Friends He Lost at Sea folgt der Betrachter den Gedanken des Protagonisten, der Szenen aus historischen Gemälden imaginiert und der aktuellen Realität dabei erschreckend nahe kommt. Unlike the Worm in the Apple interpretiert das Gefangensein im Schoß der Mutter Natur in Anlehnung an Stan Brakhage neu, während in Rebeca der Filmemacher nach filmischen Mitteln und Wegen sucht, den Selbstmord der eigenen Großmutter als einzigen Ausweg nachzuvollziehen. Zum Abschluss des Programms zieht 3 Minutes in America den Betrachter in den Sog schicksalhafter Autofahrten aus Hollywoodklassikern während Under Construction die Auseinandersetzungen um die Vertreibung chinesischer Bürger aus ihren angestammten Häusern eindrucksvoll auf die Leinwand bannt.

 

Weitere Infos zu den CineCologne-Programme zum Fokus "Aufbruch" unter www.cinecologne.de

 

 

Orte

Filmclub 813 e.V.
Kino 813 in der BRÜCKE
Hahnenstraße 6
50667 Köln
U-Bahn 1/3/4/7/9/16/18: Neumarkt

 

Filmpalette Köln
Lübecker Str. 15

50668 Köln
U-Bahn 12/15/16/18: Ebertplatz oder
U-Bahn 12/15: Hansaring

 

Eintritt
7 Euro / 5 Euro (ermäßigt)

 

Eine Veranstaltungsreihe der Videonale Bonn

 

Kombi-Ticket (2 Scope-Programme) = 12 Euro
Kombi-Ticket (2 Scope-Programme) ermäßigt = 10 Euro
CineCologne-Festivalpass (für alle CineCologne-Festivals) = 30 Euro / 25 Euro (ermäßigt)

 

Akkreditierung für Presse/Fachbesucher: 15 Euro (bitte vorab akkreditieren über www.cinecologne.de)

 

----

------

 

 

VIDEONALE.scope wird gefördert von:

 

     

 

CineCologne wird gefördert von:

 

     

 

In Kooperation mit: 

 

    

 

Videonale e.V. wird gefördert von: